Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
VFP 10.1 x64 - textbox problem
Dears 
On formular where is the OLe container with activex AntView are an textboxes too. The problem is when I click inside the web content and after click on some textbox, it is not possible to write in the textbox. Only when the formular lost focus and after click back to the textbox it is possible write in. 
How to dismiss this strange behavior? 
Thanks a lot. 
Zdenek
Hello Zdenek,

Thank you for your question.
I just confirmed this behavior in Visual FoxPro 9.x
First off, please note that I am not a VFP developer, while I have been trying to find more low level details on VFP in this particular area, it seems not that easy to find. Probably due to how long the language has been retired by Microsoft.

My suspicion is that this problem is due to how Visual FoxPro deals with handling windows controls. Normally each control on a form has its own window and its own window handle plus a message loop in which the windows messages are being dispatched. As such each control is capable of handling the focus changes itself or delegate it to the parent object.

With VFP - from what I've understood - only the form is a real windows control and all the native VFP controls -such as the textbox control- are handled by the form and are bitmap presentations of what normally would be a native windows control.
AntView is a native Windows control and thus behaves like a native Windows control when added to a form in your application.

Sadly this sometimes appears to result in issues like the one you are seeing when using in Visual FoxPro. While that might be "the way Windows works" it is obviously unwanted in this respect. There's also a lot of controls that do not behave like this in VFP, so it clearly can be fixed. The question is what FoxPro expects the control to do. I very much want to have this addressed or at least be able to provide a proper workaround.