Antwise community forums

Full Version: OnNavigationCompletedHex firing
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I'm new in Antview, testing for deciding to buy.
We use VFP

.- Wrote in code just a mess in OnNavigationCompletedHex event. Fine. It works. (after setting EventsUseHexadecimal = true)
.- Then, instead of show a message, modify a form property to know when url finished
     thisform.terminado = .t. && (true)
.- In the launch code, i use a loop (really easy to understand):
     thisform.terminado = .f.
     thisform.oAntView.object.navigate(MyUrl)
     do while !thisform.terminado
          doevents
          wait window "Waiting page to finish load..." timeout 0.5 && half a second
     enddo

.- Incredibly, thisform.terminado property never change his value; OnNavigationCompletedHex does not fire.

Any idea?
Thanks in advance
Regards

discovered that, no matter what code is after navigate method makes OnNavigationCompletedHex no firing.
Is only fired if there is no code after.
Hello,

Thank you for your question.

Almost all of the methods in WebView2 (the control from Microsoft that AntView provides access to) are asynchronous in nature.
That means that trying to approach problems in a synchronous way do tend to be problematic.
It's not that you are the first to ask these kind of questions, in fact Microsoft gets this question pretty regularly over at github.

See for example:
https://github.com/MicrosoftEdge/WebView...ssues/2117
And
https://github.com/MicrosoftEdge/WebView...ssues/1905
So you’re certainly not alone in wanting this kind of support.

You might be able to get what you want by pumping the message queue, but it is not ideal and should only be considered a workaround. Not sure what "doevents" in VFP does under the hood, if it actually pumps the message queue or not.